Friday, September 30th 2022   |

Judy Barrasso to receive NCJW’s 2022 Hannah G. Solomon Award


Judy Barrasso has been chosen as this year’s recipient of the Hannah G. Solomon Award presented by the Greater New Orleans Section of the National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW). The award will be presented to her at the annual award luncheon to be held on Mon., October 24 from 11:30 – 2:00 p.m. at the Audubon Tea Room.

2022 Hannah G. Solomon Award recipient Judy Barrasso. (Photo from NCJW)

The award is presented annually to a community leader who exemplifies the qualities of Hannah G. Solomon, the founder of the NCJW. Recipients are noted for their long-term volunteerism and  leadership as catalysts for social change.

In making the announcement, NCJW President Gail Pesses noted Barrasso’s record as a trailblazer and fierce advocate for women and civil rights in Louisiana.

“Barrasso has tirelessly worked on the most pressing issues of our time, while always working to advance other women with her,” Pesses said. “She embodies the mission of NCJW to improve the quality of life for women, children, and families and has motivated others to fight for enlightenment, progress and positive change in the community.”

A founding member of the law firm of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver, L.L.C., Barrosso has been consistently ranked at the top of the legal profession both regionally and nationally.

Barrasso has used her success to mentor, hire and pave the way for other women in the legal profession. As a member of the Louisiana Chapter of the International Women’s Forum, she had advanced women’s leadership roles and championed worldwide equality. Barrasso has also mentored college women to develop pathways to succeed in their careers and is one of the founders of Dress for Success. She has worked to increase the number of women elected to office and advocated for women to be appointed to boards and commissions.

As part of her commitment to civil rights, Barrasso has served as a lawyer volunteer on the board of The Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law. Her work included protecting access to elections nationwide, ensuring that people do not face undue obstacles at voting booths as well as making certain that absentee ballots are respected and early voting sites are accessible.

Barrasso also served as co-counsel in the federal redistricting effort for congressional seats, attempting to obtain districts that adequately represent minority communities and wrote a pro bono amicus brief supporting equal representation and opposing gerrymandering.

Barrasso has stood for the protection of religious freedom and the rights of Jewish people. She has been a long-standing board member of the South Central Region of the Anti-Defamation League (ADL) and chaired their Torch of Liberty Award dinner, She has helped to bring ADL’s diversity programs into the workplace and other venues.

Barrasso has also been a resolute partner in organizations that promote the well-being of the New Orleans community and its people. Since 2003, Barrasso has served as a commissioner and past chair of the New Orleans Downtown Development District (DDD). Under her tenure, the DDD oversaw the construction and expansion of a low barrier homeless shelter in the City of New Orleans. Barrasso has also served on the board of directors of the Contemporary Arts Center, Isidore Newman School, the New Orleans Pro Bono Project, and Breakthrough New Orleans (formerly Summerbridge), an academic enrichment program that builds a path from middle school to college for low-income students.

She is a past president of the New Orleans Bar Association, the 2016 recipient of the Louisiana Bar Foundation’s Distinguished Attorney Award, the 2017 recipient of the John R. “Jack” Martzell Professionalism Award from the New Orleans Chapter of the Federal Bar Association and was inducted into Tulane Law School’s Hall of Fame in 2018.

Barrasso joins other community leaders who have been honored with the Hannah G. Solomon Award. They include Ina Weber Davis, Madelaine Landrieu, Susan Hess, Kim Sport, Ana and Dr. Juan Gershanik, Julie Schwam Harris, Marjorie (z’ll) and Dr. Scott Cowen, Ruth Kullman, Mary Keller Zervigon, and Joan Berenson (z’ll).

For tickets and additional information visit

Share Button